News: Press Releases

Henri Bouchard Recipient of 2020 Joseph K. Seidner Award

August 20, 2020   (0 Comments)
Share |

Henri Bouchard, Director of Technical Services, CMMTQ is the twentieth recipient of the Joseph K. Seidner Award.

The presentation took place virtually at the annual Canadian Advisory Council on Plumbing Meeting on August 18th, 2020.

The Canadian Advisory Council on Plumbing provides a forum for industry, regulators,  and  product certification organizations to share new concepts and ideas, to discuss policy and programs, and to review innovations and new technologies that affect plumbing standards, as well as the certification and testing of plumbing products.

The award is in recognition of Mr. Bouchard’s outstanding contributions to Canadian plumbing codes and standards.

Mr. Bouchard has been Director of Technical Services at the CMMTQ for more than 15 years. As part of his mandate, he and his team oversee the interpretation and explanation of the Articles of the Codes governing building mechanics. In addition to writing articles and technical guides, he participates in writing courses in building mechanics. Mr. Bouchard also participates in various provincial committees of the RBQ and sits on the Standing Committee on Plumbing and Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) and National Committees of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA).

It is a great honour to receive this award alongside such an exceptional group of past recipients. It has always been natural for me to dedicate my efforts to the advancement of the plumbing and HVAC industry. This is why this recognition was definitely unexpected. I sincerely thank the committee for presenting me this prestigious award,” stated Mr. Bouchard

Plumbing & Mechanical Advisory Council (PMAC) Chair Kevin Ernst (OS&B) stated that:

Mr. Bouchard is a worthy and dedicated individual and shares the same remarkable qualities fundamental to all the Joseph Seidner recipients with traits such as commitment, perseverance, tenacity, persistence and a willingness to share their expertise. He has made a substantial contribution to our national mode codes system over the years and is now the Chair of the Standing Committee on Heating and Plumbing.  He has brought the important perspective of the mechanical trades to PMAC, and to CACP for which we are very appreciative.”

The award was established by the CIPH Board of Directors in November 2000 to honour Joseph K. Seidner, the first recipient and an industry leader and friend of CIPH. Mr. Seidner passed away in 2003 at the age of 96.  The award honours his legacy in the Standards community.

Click here for more information on the Joseph Seidner Award

Therese Kasongo
Program Manager
Canadian Institute of Plumbing & Heating