Français   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join CIPH
News: Press Releases

CIPH's Kevin Wong Presented the 2018 Joseph K. Seidner Award

February 22, 2018   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Sarah Clarke
Share |

 (L to R: Ralph Suppa, CIPH President & General Manager; Kevin Wong, Technical Advisor; Kevin Ernst, General Manager, OS&B)


Kevin Wong was recently presented with the Joseph K. Seidner Award in February by CIPH President and General Manager Ralph Suppa and Kevin Ernst (OS&B), Chair of the Plumbing & Mechanical Advisory Council. Wong is the 17th recipient of this award, which recognizes his outstanding contributions to Canadian plumbing codes and standards. 

This award represents the latest recognition within a distinguished career serving the industry. It is very fitting as it acknowledges his cumulative contributions over 12 years at CIPH. For personal reasons, Kevin’s last day in service to members will be Friday February 23, 2018.


In presenting the award, Plumbing & Mechanical Advisory Council (PMAC) Chair Kevin Ernst stated that:

“This unique award and honour is bestowed to those in our industry who share their knowledge and expertise in developing better, forward looking, and safer plumbing codes and standards. Joe’s commitment to the industry was readily seen by his passion and belief that we could always put our best feet forward to do better and to make the system better for us all. Kevin follows Joe’s example and has been a key person for the regulatory and policy development, codes and standards development; participating on the plumbing side for the last 12 years. Kevin has managed the PMAC with obvious passion and vision. He has been a visionary, and a steady and reasonable manager under which PMAC has benefited and grown…”


In his acceptance speech, Kevin noted that the award was the result of the dedication of many people in the room offering multiple points of view, experience and expertise.


“I have been honoured and blessed with working with some of the brightest minds in this industry. They have made my job easy by comparison. It has been a fun journey of guiding PMAC to the high note it is on today. Bringing the industry’s best minds together will attract government seeking our input, members seeking our council and other stakeholders seeking our help. Continue this work, it is important, now so more than ever as we face new challenges. Thank you for allowing me to be part of the journey.” 

The award was established by the CIPH Board of Directors in November 2000 to honour Joe Seidner, the first recipient and an industry leader and friend of CIPH. Seidner passed away in 2003 at the age of 96.


Learn more about Joseph K. Seidner.


Criteria for nomination:

The recipient must be nominated for outstanding service on one or more of the following and must be approved by CIPH Board:

  • CIPH's Plumbing & Mechanical Advisory Council;
  • The Canadian Advisory Council on Plumbing;
  • Various CSA International Standard Writing Committees.


Sean Giberson says...
Posted February 22, 2018
A wonderful and very deserving recipient. Congratulations Kevin!

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal