Codes & Standards

CIPH is an industry leader in keeping organizations up to date with current standards and codes.


Keep up with our codes and standards news updates.


Read Now



The National Standards System

  • The National Standards System is the network of organizations and individuals involved in voluntary standards development, promotion and implementation in Canada 
  • Under the Standards Council of Canada Act, the Standards Council of Canada (SCC) is mandated with overseeing the National Standards System. 


Why do standards matter?

  • Standards have ensured the safety and performance of products & services for over 25 years
  • The National Standards System has more than 15,000 Canadian members   
  • More than 400 organizations have been accredited by SCC

How do Certifications and Codes Work?

codes and standards




  • Products are considered “listed” or “approved” when they have been tested, and certified by an accredited certification organization AND they appear in a list of certified products in either an electronic or hard copy directory published by that organization.
  • Testing and certification involves an initial independent, third-party evaluation of a product to determine if the product conforms to applicable standards.

The following certification organizations have been accredited to test/certify plumbing product for Canada:




Full List of Certification Marks




  • Most provinces in Canada have adopted the model National Plumbing Code which can be enforced via regulation by a building or plumbing inspector.


Unsure if your province has adopted the codes? Take a look at the current schedule of codes or find your province.